Dear Wind, I love you and Hate You

DEAR WIND, WHY DO YOU TORTURE ME SO?

Wind

This morning, as I took my son for our daily walk, the wind was exceptionally refreshing.  It had a constant presence, but would occasionally say, “Hey, wake up!”, by lifting the hair off my shoulders.  As if under a trance, my mind began to wander to my favorite places where wind has touched my soul.

I found myself walking down the beach in California collecting shells at sunset, but then on the next breeze I was just waking up in our tent to the sound of sea lions while overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Big Sur.  I stayed there for a while….because it just felt so good.  I knew on the next gust of wind I would be sitting on a bluff in Yosemite with my husband watching the eagles fly and I was right.  I could feel the sunny breeze flowing through my hair as I smelled the sweet scent of the Elderberry bush beside me…I was in heaven.

Then, I was back in reality.  Walking down my old tree covered street to the river with my little boy and dog.  I wonder if when we leave here, the wind will bring me back to Riverside Drive, the way it takes me to California??

I HAVE A LOVE/HATE RELATIONSHIP WITH THE WIND.

LOVE

I love the way the wind it touches my soul every time it caresses my face.

I love the way the wind magically takes me all over the world.

I love the wind for carrying sweet, nostalgic smells to me that makes me smile.

I love the wind for all its power – the respect it demands and yet the love it shares.

HATE

I hate the way the wind makes me want to spread my wings and fly – it makes me unsettled.  It makes my mind wander and yearn to be anywhere other than where I am at the moment.

I hate the wind for being able to travel the world for free.  For being able to touch all the beautiful things in life by going which ever way it blows.

I hate the wind for having so much freedom.  Some days I wish the wind would just swoop me up and take me on the greatest adventure – we would soar through the clouds, skim the surface of the ocean, ride the waves, scale mountains, and kiss fields of flowers.

I hate the wind for making me wish I could pack everything up and move to a deserted beach where I could live forever with the wind.

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE WIND, WHERE DOES IT TAKE YOU WHEN IT TOUCHES YOUR FACE??

Leave a Reply

