A Chaplain’s Wife’s experience after deployment

EACH TIME I MAKE A NEW MILITARY FRIEND, I FIND MYSELF ASKING THEM WHAT THE HARDEST PART OF BEING IN THE SERVICE IS.

EACH TIME THE ANSWER IS FAIRLY CONSISTENT: SEPARATION AND REUNITING OF A DEPLOYMENT.

AS A WORDPRESS USER, I FOLLOW BLOGS ON THE WP READER AND LAST NIGHT ONE IN PARTICULAR STOOD OUT TO ME. IF WAS A POST FROM THE BLOG, RURAL REVERD, ENTITLED WELCOME HOME. THE AUTHOR, KUHIWA, IS A CHAPLAIN’S WIFE AND SHE SHARED HER THOUGHTS AND EXPERIENCES STRAIGHT FROM HER HEART.

I hope Kuhiwa’s thoughts can help you get through the entire deployment process!

United Military Travel 

Rural Reverend

Welcome Home: Deployments & Reunions

I tend not to write much about the military aspect of life for various reasons including our safety and of course as a military officer/chaplain’s wife there are a lot of things I have to monitor. But I did feel like I should write about one particular aspect that can prove to be a huge challenge to us military wives: separation and reuniting. We all deal with it on different levels personally but still each have to process through it. In this particular thought, I am coming from the perspective of the husband being the service member and the wife staying at home (I’m sure it may be a little different if the roles are reversed).

With my husband being in the Reserves, we do not have to deal with lots of deployments or very long ones but occasionally we do have a few days or weeks of separation for…

View original post 893 more words

Leave a Reply

